

## The REPUBLICANS'

## **HONOUR ROLL**

of

## REPUBLICANS of the YEAR

(since inauguration of The Award in 1991)

- 1. 1991...<u>Tom Keneally</u>, Author and (then) Inaugural Chairman of the Australian Republican Movement (ARM)
- 2. 1992...Alex Mitchell, (then) Journalist, Sun-Herald newspaper
- 3. 1993...<u>Peter Collins</u>, (then) New South Wales Senior Liberal Parliamentarian
- 4. 1994...Charles Mountbatten-Windsor, Monarch-in-Waiting
- 5. 1995...Paul Kelly, Editor-at-Large, The Australian newspaper
- **6. 1996...Bill Clinton**, (then) President of the United States of America
- 7. 1997...Bob Brown, (then) Tasmanian Greens Senator
- 8. 1998...<u>Bill Leak\*</u>, Cartoonist & Commentator, The Australian newspaper
- 1999...Peter Consandine, Founder (1982), National Executive Director and Bankroller-Perpetuale, Republican Party of Australia
- **10. 2000... George Winterton\***, (then) Professor of Constitutional Law, UNSW
- **11. 2001... Geoffrey Robertson**, International Human Rights Campaigner
- 12. 2002...Helen Irving, Senior Law Lecturer, University of Sydney
- **13. 2003...** Mark McKenna, Historian and Author and (then) ANU Academic
- **14. 2004... Peter Lalor**, Great, Great Grandson of the Eureka Rebellion Leader
- 15. 2005... Phillip Adams, Columnist, The Australian newspaper; National Broadcaster with the ABC and National Living Treasure
- **16. 2006...** Dean Jaensch\*, SA Academic, Historian and Expert Political Pundit
- 17. 2007... <u>David Black</u>, WA Parliamentary Fellow; Historical Consultant to The John Curtin Prime Ministerial Library and Expert Political Pundit
- **18. 2008...Jenny Goldie**, Sustainable Population Activist and Eminent Exponent of 'Quiet Republicanism'
- **19. 2009...** David Muir, Chairman of Real Republic Australia Ltd and Comptroller of The Clem Jones Republican Bequest
- **20. 2010...Peter Ellyard**, Futures Strategist, Author and Motivational Speaker
- **21. 2011...Terry Fewtrell,** (then) Founder of the original Republican Gatherers organisation and (then)President of the Canberra-based Wattle Day Association
- **22. 2012...Tony Heath,** Founder of the *very first* Tasmanian business with the word 'Republic' in the name/heading [the Republic Bar & Cafe at North Hobart]

- **23**. **2013...<u>Fred Carter</u>**, Prominent Victorian Australian Democrats Party Republican
- **24. 2014...** Harry Evans\*, Former Clerk of the Australian Senate [in Memoriam]
- **25. 2015...** Glenn Davies, Queensland Convenor, ARM; Founder of the Annual National Republican Short Story Competition and Editor of the Speculating on the Oz Republic Anthology E-Book
- 26. 2016...Natasha Stott Despoja, Chair, Our Watch; Former Australian Democrats Senator and Leader of that party in the Senate; Former Australian Ambassador to the United Nations for Women & Girls
- 27. 2017...Mary E White\*, Author and Oldest-known Monarchist to switch her allegiance to an Australian Republic [in Memoriam]
- **28. 2018**...**Kelvin Fahey**. Sponsor of the entire RPA National Convention #32 at Nimmitabel [Southern Tablelands, NSW] in May, 2018
- 29. 2019...Clem Jones\*, Long Time serving Lord Mayor of Brisbane and Founder of the Real Republic Australia Ltd organisation which is dedicated to a Direct-Election model for the Australian Presidency [in Memoriam]
- **30. 2020**...**John Hirst**\*, Eminent Australian Historian & Author [in Memoriam]
- **31. 2021**... Chrissie Sharp\*, Former Greens WA Legislative Councillor [in Memoriam]
- **32. 2022**...**John Fahey\*** Former Liberal NSW Premier and Federal Finance Minister [in Memoriam]
- 33. 2023 <u>Benjamin T. Jones</u>, Senior Lecturer in History at The University of Central Queensland and esteemed author of the landmark 2018 Australian History textbook viz 'THIS TIME: Australia's Republican Past & Future'

## \*(since) Deceased