The REPUBLICANS' HONOUR ROLL of

REPUBLICANS of the YEAR

(since inauguration of The Award in 1991)

- 1. 1991...<u>Tom Keneally</u>, Author and (then) Inaugural Chairman of the Australian Republican Movement (ARM)
- 2. 1992...<u>Alex Mitchell</u>, (then) Journalist, Sun-Herald newspaper
- **3.** 1993...<u>Peter Collins</u>, (then) New South Wales Senior Liberal Parliamentarian
- 4. 1994...Charles Mountbatten-Windsor, Monarch-in-Waiting
- 5. 1995...Paul Kelly, Editor-at-Large, The Australian newspaper
- 6. 1996...<u>Bill Clinton</u>, (then) President of the United States of America
- 7. 1997...Bob Brown, (then) Tasmanian Greens Senator
- 8. 1998...<u>Bill Leak*</u>, Cartoonist & Commentator, The Australian newspaper
- 9. 1999...<u>Peter Consandine</u>, Founder (1982), National Executive Director and Bankroller-Perpetuale, Republican Party of Australia
- 10. 2000...<u>George Winterton</u>*, (then) Professor of Constitutional Law, UNSW
- **11. 2001...<u>Geoffrey Robertson</u>**, International Human Rights Campaigner
- 12. 2002...<u>Helen Irving</u>, Senior Law Lecturer, University of Sydney
- 13. 2003...<u>Mark McKenna</u>, Historian and Author and (then) ANU Academic
- 14. 2004...<u>Peter Lalor</u>, Great, Great Grandson of the Eureka Rebellion Leader
- **15.** 2005...<u>Phillip Adams</u>, Columnist, The Australian newspaper; National Broadcaster with the ABC and National Living Treasure
- 16. 2006...<u>Dean Jaensch</u>, SA Academic, Historian and Expert Political Pundit
- **17. 2007...David Black**, WA Parliamentary Fellow; Historical Consultant to The John Curtin Prime Ministerial Library and Expert Political Pundit
- **18. 2008...Jenny Goldie**, Sustainable Population Activist and Eminent Exponent of 'Quiet Republicanism'
- **19. 2009...David Muir**, Chairman of Real Republic Australia Ltd and Comptroller of The Clem Jones Republican Bequest
- 20. 2010...<u>Peter Ellyard</u>, Futures Strategist, Author and Motivational Speaker

- **21. 2011...<u>Terry Fewtrell</u>, (then) Founder of the original Republican Gatherers organisation and (then)President of the Canberra-based Wattle Day Association**
- 22. 2012...<u>Tony Heath</u>, Founder of the *very first* Tasmanian business with the word 'Republic' in the name/heading [the Republic Bar & Cafe at North Hobart]
- 23. 2013...<u>Fred Carter</u>, Prominent Victorian Australian Democrats Party Republican
- 24. 2014...<u>Harry Evans</u>*, Former Clerk of the Australian Senate [in Memoriam]
- 25. 2015...<u>Glenn Davies</u>, Queensland Convenor, ARM; Founder of the Annual National Republican Short Story Competition and Editor of the Speculating on the Oz Republic Anthology E-Book
- 26. 2016...<u>Natasha Stott Despoja</u>, Chair, Our Watch; Former Australian Democrats Senator and Leader of that party in the Senate; Former Australian Ambassador to the United Nations for Women & Girls
- 27. 2017..<u>Mary E White</u>*, Author and Oldest-known Monarchist to switch her allegiance to an Australian Republic [in Memoriam]
- 2018...<u>Kelvin Fahey</u>, Sponsor of the entire RPA National Convention #32 at Nimmitabel [Southern Tablelands, NSW] in May, 2018
- **29. 2019**...<u>Clem Jones*</u>, Long Time serving Lord Mayor of Brisbane and Founder of the Real Republic Australia Ltd organisation which is dedicated to a Direct-Election model for the Australian Presidency [in Memoriam]
- **30.** 2020...<u>John Hirst</u>* Eminent Australian Historian & Author [in Memoriam]

*(since) Deceased